A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (Review)

acowar

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

720 pages

 I read both “A Court of Thorns and Roses” and “A Court of Mist and Fury” earlier this year, I thought ACOTAR was ok (but pffft @ Tamlin) and I loved ACOMAF so much, so I was waiting with bated breath for ACOWAR. Sorry but I was a bit disappointed.

Obviously because this is #3 in a series there may be some spoilers ahead, although I will do my best not to…

I’m not sure how to put into words my feelings, so bear with me…

Feyre & Rysand – I love them. They have to be one of my favourite literary couples ever – although after the events of ACOMAF I felt there wasn’t much more to develop with their romance so it all felt a bit repetitive.

At the beginning when Feyre was in the Spring Court, I was expecting much more to happen. Even though her scheming was impressive, and the outcome mildly bonkers, it felt unnecessary and more of a device to get Lucien into the Night Court…

Then there’s Lucien. He was my favourite character in ACOTAR, and when he went with Feyre to the Night Court I was so looking forward to more of him and his history, but I didn’t get it. Yes there were bits and pieces, and he was welcomed into the inner circle, but pretty swiftly he was shipped of to the human realm to find Vassa – and it turns out he wasn’t the one who found her…. Frustrating.

I did like Mor’s story, I know that some people think her confession to Feyre was merely the author attempting to appease her critics who complain of lack of diversity, but I was totally on board with it. Yes it did come slightly out of left field, but there has been some foreshadowing of it throughout the other books. BUT she is treating poor Azriel shockingly and needs to have some kind of conversation with him, not necessarily the same one she had with Feyre because no-one should be forced into that, but she needs to talk to him about her feelings for him at least.

Speaking of Azriel, I want to adopt him, and Cassian. Or marry them. I can’t decide which one though…

Ok so I digress slightly.

This makes it sound like I didn’t like the book at all. I DID. I really liked it, it’s just I can acknowledge that it wasn’t perfect.

The world was great, developing on top of the building carried out before. The magic system was easy to understand, I absolutely loved the use of Syphons, and of course Feyre trying to develop her powers was entertaining (although more flying would have been welcomed).

The battles were pretty impressive too, although I think they could’ve been more details – I’ve heard it described as too much tell and not enough show, which is a good description. When Amren joins the fray, she levelled hundreds of fighters, but HOW??? I want descriptions please! maybe that makes me bloodthirsty, but I’ve invested my time in this and they are some fairly explicit sex scenes but not enough detail in the battles for me.

There were a few twists and turns, Tamlin and Jurian being the most notable. There was some sadness – the Suriel, Amren, the Bone Carver amongst them, and also some punch the air in triumph moments – Ianthe & the Weaver, but again I would’ve loved more gore!! HaHa

So much happened within these 700+ pages it’s hard to keep everything straight.

Overall I really enjoyed this. More than ACOTAR, but nowhere near as much as ACOMAF. It felt to me that because there had been the announcement of more books in the series, stuff happened here as a set up for those. There was an massive influx of characters that we didn’t get many details about. Changes in lineage were introduced, as well as there being big holes in the story – including what happened with Lucien. It also took me quite a while to read (1 week). Also I said in my review of ACOMAF that it felt more like an adult book than a YA one, but this one felt younger. I can’t really explain it, but ACOMAF just felt much more grown up to me which is possibly why I enjoyed it so much more.

Really enjoyable but frustrating and mildly unsatisfying….

Finished on May 9th 2017

4_stars-svg

You can buy the book here if you wish

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

