Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook (Review)

stuff ive been feeling

In Alicia Cook’s second poetic effort, designed in the style of an old mixtape, she sets her thoughts to a nostalgic tune. There is no Table of Contents. Instead, there is a “Track List,” making it easy to refer to them to your friends with a, “Hey did you read track seven?!” There are no chapters. Instead, the book is divided into two parts, or as one would say in the 90’s, two “sides.” Side A holds poetry that touches on all aspects of the human condition like life, death, love, moving on, evolving, growing up, hometowns, family dynamic, life after trauma, and make-ups and breakups. Side B holds the “remixes” of these poems, in the form of blackout poetry, also known as “found poetry.” Side B gives the material a fresh twist by creating new poetry out of Side A. There is also a very special surprise at the end of each track.

242 pages

Released in the UK on April 11th 2017

I am not really a poetry person usually. However I have recently read a couple of novels in verse that I really enjoyed, and am trying to expand my horizons, so a book of poetry in the style of a mix tape was pretty irresistible to me.

Happily, I really enjoyed it.

“Side A” was the poetry, some of which I could really relate to , as there seemed to be a lot about mental health there, as well as love, loss and moving on. But it was “Side B” that I LOVED! I’ve never seen blackout poetry before, but it was really amazing. It used the poems from Side A to create new poems. These felt more uplifting and hopeful and gave me lots of feels.

I may not be converted to the joys of poetry fully yet, but I am certainly on my way.

Thanks Alicia Cook for giving me a soundtrack to listen to as I made my way through this!!!

Received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley

Finished on March 27th 2017

4_stars.svg_.png

You can buy the book here if you wish

Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook

Leave a Reply

