Everything Reminds You of Something Else by Elana Wolff (Review)

Everything reminds you

Thin is the line between dreaming and wakefulness, wellness and disorder, here and there, this and that. Elana Wolff’s poems illuminate the porousness of states and relations, the connective compulsion of poetic perception, in language that blends the oracular and the everyday, the elliptical and the lucent, the playful and the heart-raking. The de- and re-constructive workings of the poems in Everything Reminds You of Something Else argue for empathy and attentiveness. At the core of this work is the belief that art is the sanest rage.

90 pages

Released on April 1st 2017

Again with the poetry! I am trying to read more, and enjoy it, but I keep stumbling across stuff that reminds me of poetry I had to read at school.

This collection had some really gorgeous, beautiful and moving poems in it. But I found it was also full of that crazy language that I find a turn off.

As I have said about other poetry collections. I do really appreciate the form and style, I just find it hard to enjoy.

I am not giving up on the poetry though. And I would suggest reading this to see if you can connect with it, because it is really beautiful in parts.

Received via Netgalley for review.

Finished on April 1st 2017

3_stars-svg

You can buy the book here if you wish

Everything Reminds You of Something Else by Elana Wolff

Leave a Reply

