Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley (Review)

lily

Companions come in all shapes and sizes.
Companionship lasts forever.
 
Ted + Lily
Enjoy long walks.
Watch films together.
Have been known to share a pizza.
Love each other fiercely.
Have been inseparable for 12 years.
 
But there is one more twist to come in this tail …

One of my friends who is a librarian read this last year and I was intrigued by it.

I am an animal person, and animal books usually have me sobbing… Marley & Me, The art of Racing in the Rain both got me… so did this.

Lily is adorable. I loved the sheer excitement she exuded. “ME! CHICKEN! RICE! RED BALL! NOW!”. I know this could be annoying to some people but I found it quite cute. I also really enjoyed how Ted would have full conversations with her. Maybe this does’t make sense to non pet people, but I do this every day with my cat, and did with my dogs before they died. Pets are people to me, and finding a book that treats them in this way is brilliant.

It is obvious from the moment the Octopus appears how the story of Ted and Lily is going to end, but it is the getting there that is the important part. You go through the anguish and desperation with Ted and see poor Lily’s bafflement with the whole situation. It does fly off into left-field somewhat with the boat trip, but I felt as though this was more like a series of Ted’s dreams leading up to the final decision.

There is also a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel right at the end, which left me with a smile rather than just sadness.

Experiencing a relationship story like this was amazing, I adored both Ted and Lily, and it really does make you aware of how important our fur people are.

Highly recommended!

This is my  “cry-worthy book” cry-sadfor the #emojiathon

Finished on February 13th 2017

4_stars-svg

Counting as part of the following challenges:

#Emojiathon

#LitsyAtoZ

#popsugarreadingchallenge

You can buy the book here if you wish:

Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

6 thoughts on “Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley (Review)

  1. Pingback: #Emojiathon TBR list | Helly Reads

  2. How often do you read nonfiction?

    I really enjoy it because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

  3. Pingback: #emojiathon wrap up… | Helly Reads

Leave a Reply

