The Story of Us by Dani Atkins (Review)

story-of-us

Emma Marshall can’t wait to marry her childhood sweetheart, Richard. But then a tragic accident changes everything, and introduces a stranger, Jack, into her life. Gorgeous and mysterious, Jack is like no-one Emma has met before. But Richard is the man she loves…

Two different men.

Two different destinies.

How will Emma end her story?

I read “Fractured” by Dani Atkins a while ago and really enjoyed it, so when I saw this for 99p on the kindle store I couldn’t resist, it has however been sitting on my kindle waiting to be read for a little while!

I loved this. Not quite 5 stars loved, but it was still great. Really good chick-lit, covering not only romance, but grief, loss, betrayal, jealousy, hope and trust.

Interspersed throughout the story are snippets of “the end”, giving you glimpses into the future allowing you to guess at what’s happening. I did’t guess correctly, but it was, I thought, a really good way to end the story.

The characters ere all written well, my favourites being Jack (the sexy suave american hero) and Monique (the rather eccentric French bookshop owner).

The pacing was good too, with lots of little ups and downs, so many it felt a little bit like a roller coaster at times. Everything made me emotional though. From the accidents, to the revelations, to the romances, breakdowns and ultimately the ending.

I find the problem with a lot of romances is that either you don’t care, or don’t believe the characters. This is not a problem I had with this. I really did care, and I wanted everyone to have a good resolution. I even found myself shouting out at one point when I thought Emma had done something stupid…..

Brilliant.

This is my heart “Love Story” for the #emojiathon

Finished on February 5th 2017

4_stars-svg

Counting as part of the following challenges:

#emojiathon

#killyourTBR2017

You can buy the book here if you wish:

The Story of Us by Dani Atkins

2 thoughts on “The Story of Us by Dani Atkins (Review)

  1. Pingback: #Emojiathon TBR list | Helly Reads

  2. Pingback: #emojiathon wrap up… | Helly Reads

Leave a Reply

